Cherry Blossoms in Korea!

It’s springtime in Korea! Spring is far from my favorite month and leads into my least favorite month, but here in Korea there is at least one upside to spring:

Image

The cherry blossom trees are in full bloom! I’d never seen cherry blossom trees before (Indiana is not an ideal growing terrain for cherry blossom trees), and so I made sure to make it out even though I’ve recently come down with a cold. There’s a cool mountain between where I life and Yonsei University. Ansan mountain is a pretty big mountain that lots of people like to hike, yet despite it being in my backyard these last two times I have lived here, I have not made it to the mountain. Hopefully this will change soon, but since I didn’t want to miss the blossoms, I decided to walk to Yonsei because I was positive they had blossom trees planted.

And I was right! Yonsei has absolutely stunning blossoms this week!

Image

Image

 

There is a slim time for the blossoms to be in full bloom, so when it happens you absolutely have to take advantage before they all fall from the branches. You’ll seriously kick yourself if you miss it, so find the closest place with the trees and go! Apparently there are several big “destinations” for Koreans to see the trees blooming, but I’ve heard they’re really crowded. There are bound to be cherry blossom trees around where you live, and if not, find the closest ones!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I got incredibly lucky. The day I went out (a Sunday) was a really crystal clear day. It was chilly, but wearing a hoody was perfectly comfortable, and the sky was so blue, it made the pictures look awesome. It had been raining a few days earlier, so I’m glad such a nice day came around and let me out! I tried to take pictures with the cherry blossoms, but they kept washing themselves out of the photos! Lame.

Image

After I relaxed under the blossoms for a bit, I wandered around the campus for some memory lane visits, then went to Ewha Women’s University. I didn’t want to spend money, so I just plopped myself down in a cat cafe there. It was really relaxed, so cat cafe’s are a good place to go if you aren’t in the mood to give attention to much of anything. I did make a little friend, though.

Image

Leave a Reply

